Logo der Universität Wien
You are here:>University of Vienna >Faculty of Chemistry

The Faculty of Chemistry was founded as a separate organizational unit in 2004, following the implementation of the University Law 2002. Prior to this, the Institutes of Chemistry existed as a section within the Faculty of Nature sciences and Mathematics.

The major part of the assigned rooms – offices, labs, lecture rooms – is situated in the historical block of buildings “New Chemistry”, between Strudlhofgasse, Boltzmanngasse and Währinger Straße. Some institutes are located at other University buildings in the 9. district in Vienna.

Traditionally, the curricula of teaching and the research in the area of Chemistry at the University of Vienna are complementary to those at the Technical University and the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences. The resulting scientific exchange, which over the years has proved as being very productive, is the best proof for the usefulness of this cooperation.

Faculty of Chemistry
University of Vienna

Währinger Straße 42
A-1090 Vienna

Opening hours Deanery and SSC:
Mo, We, Th: 9:00-12:00 a.m.
Th also: 3:00-5:00 p.m.
During holidays the offices are closed on Thursday's afternoon!

T: +43-1-4277-520 01
F: +43-1-4277-9 520
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0