Logo der Universität Wien
You are here:>University of Vienna >Faculty of Chemistry

Why chemistry?

Today’s world is changing rapidly. Backing out of a civilization, primarily focused on natural sciences and technique, is no solution. Chemistry is indeed a survival strategy, which has the potential to increase the quality of life fundamentally, whether by way of novel substances or active agents. Moreover, the entire material nature is of a chemical nature and chemistry therefore occupies a central position within the natural sciences.

The Faculty of Chemistry is committed to the fundamentals-oriented broad education in the field of chemistry and to the special development of the focal research areas: (1) Computer-based Chemistry and Biomolecular Simulation, (2) Chemistry of Functional and Sustainable Materials, (3) Food Chemistry and Physiological Chemistry, 4) Bio- and Environmental Analysis, (5) Synthesis and Catalysis, and (6) Biological and Medical Chemistry.
The Faculty of Chemistry is always open to the initiatives of its members to take forward-looking research in addition to the focussed research areas. This flexibility allows new fields of research to be based on future focus.

Studying chemistry is the job basis for chemists in research and development, the technical area, industry and environment. During the Bachelor study (six terms) the students receive a well-founded basis training (Analytical, Inorganic, Organic, Physical, Theoretical Chemistry and Biochemistry) as well as an introduction to Mathematics and Physics. During the Master study a wide range of courses in the key aspects listed above is on offer.

Moreover, the professional and didactic training for the teachers of Chemistry in secondary schools also is located at the Faculty for Chemistry and fuels the enthusiasm of young people for chemistry.

The research at the Faculty of Chemistry is well recognized internationally. Master- and PhD- students very often have opportunity for an internship in the framework of university co-operations abroad. The expertise of our scientists is in demand at universities but also in a commercial setting in Austria as well as abroad. Substantial third party funds which enable the payment of project workers are raised by the Faculty of Chemistry.

 

Bernhard Keppler
Dean
Veronika Somoza
Vice Dean
Lothar Brecker
Vice Dean
Faculty of Chemistry
University of Vienna

Währinger Straße 42
A-1090 Vienna

Opening hours Deanery and SSC:
Mo, We, Th: 9:00-12:00 a.m.
Th also: 3:00-5:00 p.m.
During holidays the offices are closed on Thursday's afternoon!

T: +43-1-4277-520 01
F: +43-1-4277-9 520
E-Mail
University of Vienna | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Vienna | T +43-1-4277-0

Logo der Universität Wien
Sie sind hier:>Universität Wien >Fakultät für Chemie

Warum Chemie?

Die Welt ist in einem raschen Wandel begriffen, "Ausstieg" aus der naturwissenschaftlichtechnischen Zivilisation ist keine Lösung. Die Chemie ist eine Überlebensstrategie, die fundamental die Lebensqualität verbessert, sei es durch neue Werkstoffe oder Wirkstoffe. Zudem ist die gesamte materielle Welt chemischer Natur, die Chemie nimmt daher eine zentrale Stellung innerhalb der Naturwissenschaften ein.

Die Fakultät für Chemie bekennt sich zur grundlagenorientierten, breiten Ausbildung im Fach Chemie und darauf aufbauend zur besonderen Entwicklung der Forschungsschwerpunkte: (1) Computergestützte Chemie und biomolekulare Simulation, (2) Chemie funktioneller und nachhaltiger Materialien, (3) Lebensmittelchemie und Physiologische Chemie, (4) Bio- und Umweltanalytik, (5) Synthese und Katalyse sowie (6) Biologische und medizinische Chemie.
Die Fakultät für Chemie ist stets offen für Initiativen ihrer Mitglieder, zukunftsweisende Forschungsthemen neben den fokussierten Forschungsschwerpunkten aufzugreifen. Diese Flexibilität ermöglicht neue Forschungsgebiete as Basis zukünftiger Schwerpunkte.

Das Chemiestudium ist die berufliche Grundlage für Chemiker in Forschung und Entwicklung, Technik, Industrie und Umwelt. Im Bachelorstudium (sechs Semester) erfolgt eine fundierte chemische Grundausbildung (Analytische, Anorganische, Organische, Physikalische und Theoretische Chemie sowie Biochemie), aber auch eine Einführung in Mathematik und Physik. Im Masterstudium steht eine breite Ausbildungspalette in den obigen Schwerpunkten zur Auswahl.

Zudem ist im Bereich der Fakultät auch die fachliche und fachdidaktische Ausbildung der Chemielehrerinnen und -lehrer für die Sekundarstufe angesiedelt, da so wieder junge Menschen für die Chemie begeistert werden.

An den Instituten der Fakultät wird Forschung auf international anerkanntem Niveau betrieben. Master- und Doktoratsstudierende erhalten oft schon im Rahmen Ihrer Ausbildung die Möglichkeit, Auslandsaufenthalte an kooperierenden Universitätsinstituten zu absolvieren. Neben der universitären Zusammenarbeit im In- und Ausland sind die Kompetenzen unserer Mitarbeiter auch kommerziell gefragt. Beträchtliche Fördermittel werden aus Industriekooperationen eingeworben und ermöglichen die Bezahlung von Projektmitarbeitern und Projektmitarbeiterinnen.

 

Bernhard Keppler
Dekan
Veronika Somoza
Vizedekanin
Lothar Brecker
Vizedekan
Fakultät für Chemie
Universität Wien

Währinger Straße 42
A-1090 Wien

Öffnungszeiten Dekanat und SSC:
Mo, Mi, Do: 9:00-12:00
Do zusätzlich: 15:00-17:00
In der vorlesungsfreien Zeit nachmittags geschlossen!

T: +43-1-4277-520 01
F: +43-1-4277-9 520
E-Mail
Universität Wien | Universitätsring 1 | 1010 Wien | T +43-1-4277-0