Dies facultatis 2021

© Core Facility Multimodal Imaging

"Chemie ist nicht alles, aber alles ist Chemie" - On Thursday, September 30th, 2021, the Faculty Day Chemistry 2021 will take place in the Carl Auer von Welsbach Lecture Hall. Professor Davide Bonifazi from the Institute of Organic Chemistry will give his inaugural lecture. In addition, you can again expect a colorful array of flash talks by new professors and research groups. We are also pleased to have the opportunity to present the "Golden Doctoral Diploma" to six colleagues on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of the award of their doctorate!

NOTE: Talks will be presented either in German or in English!

Thursday, September 30th, 2021, 13:30

Carl Auer von Welsbach Hörsaal, Boltzmanngasse 1, 1090 Vienna



Welcome & Introduction

Bernhard Keppler
(Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry)

Heinz W. Engl
(Rector of the University of Vienna)

Saya Ahmad
(District head for the 9th district)

Inge Dreyer, Christoph Klösch
(Student representatives)

Inaugural Lecture: A Colourful Chemical World

Davide Bonifazi
(Professor at the Institute of Organic Chemistry)

Invitation (PDF)

Flash talks of new Professors

Michael Anton
(Didactics of Chemistry)

Thomas Böttcher
(Microbial Biochemistry)

Jürgen Zanghellini
(Chemical Bioinformatics)




New tenure track professorships

Robert Ahrends
(Assoc. Professor at the Institute of Analytical Chemistry)

Jia Min Chin
(Assistant Professor at the Institute of Physical CHemistry & ERC Consolidator Grant)

Samuel Meier-Menches
(Assistant Professor at the Joint Metabolome Facility)

Thomas Mindt
(Assistant Professor at the Institute of Inorganic Chemistry)

Robert Woodward
(Assistant Professor at the Institute of Materials Chemistry and Research)

EU ESFRI Research Infrastructure EIRENE on the human exposome

Benedikt Warth
(National EIRENE coordinator, Assoc. Professor at the Institute of Food Chemistry and Toxicology)


Renewal of the doctorate on the occasion of the 50th anniversary of its awarding

Ralf Becker
Werner Pfannhauser
Sonja Solar
Wolfgang Solar
Walter Vycudilik
Gerhard Wiche

Vice Dean Gunda Köllensperger, former Vice Dean Veronika Somoza – Laudationes